防雪栅栏不可替代土工格栅

2013年8月6日|类别:新闻 |发布者:管理员

挡土墙的建设非同儿戏,很多不良的后果都是它造成。

作为承包商,我们有责任确保交付优质工程。承包商知道他们在做什么,房主对此有充分的信任。如果您不知道细节,应该问清楚 - 很多人都愿意为您讲解清楚。案例分析 - 我们最近看到了这个坏消息:一堵全新的7英尺挡土墙显然没有做过工程勘察或获得过许可证。建设的质量极差。

在墙顶上,汽车被停在2英尺高的山坡上。路缘石非常小,也没有护栏防止人们从边缘处开车掉下。

墙体构建分为两部分,在三分之二的高度部分往后撤大约10英寸。建筑师对房主说:“这意味着墙体的高度不会超过4英尺,因为它是不连续的斜坡…”。这是绝对是谬论。大多数城市的一般要求是未经过工程设计的墙壁最大只可暴露4英尺,而多出来的墙壁应向后撤至少旁边矮墙高度的两倍。这是为了避免下壁无法承受上壁的重量。

在这种情况下,承包商应承担正常修复或重建时所需的费用;如果墙体倒塌,房主的保险并不包括清理的开支。

这种清理费用非常昂贵。它包括:移除150-200吨质量较差的填充材料,重建正确的墙体和沥青路面,供应及正确安装路缘石、栏杆和排水系统。此外,工程测量、外运和处置废料也会导致成本增加。

所以请记住
1、雪栅栏不可替代土工格栅
2、河砂是一种廉价的填充材料,但不能未经加工就当做建筑填充物。
3、未经工程设计的墙壁必须不能超过“4英尺高、相隔8英尺”的要求;这适用于许多城市(但并非全部)
4、最后,工程师和许可证是我们永远的朋友。

每一年我们都会看到5到10个这样不可靠的工程,而且大多数比这个案例的情况更危险。让我们立刻行动起来,阻止那些没有能力、毫不负责的承包商。

script type="text/javascript"> /*' ); var aoAccountId = '7530'; var aoCookieMode = 'STANDARD'; var aoCookieDomain = 'actonsoftware.com'; var aoServerContext = 'http://ci49.actonsoftware.com/acton'; /* ]]> */

Snow Fence is Not an Alternative to Geogrid

06 Aug 2013 | Categories: News | Posted by: admin

Retaining walls are serious business and a lot of bad things can happen if they are not done the right way.

As contractors, we are all responsible for ensuring our work is done properly. Homeowners trust contractors to know what they’re doing. If you’re ever not sure on specifics, you should ask – lots of people willing to teach what they know. Case in point – we saw this recently and its bad news: A property with a brand new 7-foot retaining wall, and obviously built without engineering or permits. It was very poor construction.

On top of the wall, cars are being parked within 2 feet of the drop, with only a tiny curb and no guardrail to prevent anyone from driving or falling off the edge.

The wall is split and set back about 10 inches at 2/3rds of the way up. The installer told the homeowner “this meant the wall was less than 4-feet tall because it was not continuous…” This is absolutely ridiculous, and the typical requirements for most municipalities require un-engineered walls to be a maximum of 4 feet exposed, AND additional walls set back at least twice the height of the next lower wall. This is to avoid overloading the lower wall with the weight of the upper wall.

In this case, the contractor is liable for damages to repair/rebuild correctly, and if the wall fails, the homeowner is NOT covered by his insurance for the cleanup.

This will be a very costly cleanup, involve removing 150-200 tonnes of poor quality fill materials, rebuilding the wall correctly, and reinstallation of asphalt paving, and supply and installation of appropriate curbs and railings, drainage, and also incurring costs for engineering and any export trucking and disposal.

So remember
1. Snow fence IS NOT an alternative to geogrid
2. River sand is cheap fill material, but IS NOT considered structural fill on its own.
3. Un-engineered walls must fit within the ‘4-feet up 8-feet back’ rule that applies in many municipalities (but not all)
4. And finally, that engineers and permits are our friends.

We see around 5 to 10 dangerous jobs a year like this, and most are far more precarious than this one. Let’s do it right and stop those who can’t do or who don’t care.